divine

Awaiting Licence

Anything shotgun related

Awaiting Licence

Postby Delta Tubs » Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:59 pm

Hi there I'm a newbie here. I have applied for my SGC and have had a visit from the FAO which went well. I was asked a couple of question,do you drink,any mental problems. I was also asked how much experience I have handling and shooting shotguns. He is coming back next week to check my gun cabinet as it had just arrived and is now fitted so hopefully will have my ticket soon :grin:

I intend to get a couple more lessons at Seals cove,had one there recently,and look to purchase a shotgun soon.i was lucky enough to shoot at Gleneagles last week which was ace. I'm sure we shot with a Baretta 686 12g 28inch which I felt really comfortable with so Im thinking I might go down this route. I am right handed but left eye dominant I managed 36 out of 50 which I was pleased with.

Hoping to pop into Anderson Guns soon for a look and see what they have. I will predominately using the gun for clays but I have a friend of a friend who has an estate in Perthshire and have been given the nod to shoot there but I'd rather gain more expireince before attempting this and only with a more expireinced shooter.

Any thoughts on the 686 as a ll round gun as I probably will only purchase once any advice will be great fully received.

I hope to contribute more as I gain expireince and hopefully may see some of you locals at Seals cove :thup:

Tubs.
Delta Tubs
Pea shooter
Pea shooter

Re: Awaiting Licence

Postby humperdingle » Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:15 pm

The Beretta 686 is a nice gun, mate... I had a 686s briefly. I say briefly, as It just didn't fit me and I couldn't hit much with it compared to my previous gun (Beretta Urika).

If you can find one that fits you and you're comfortable with, it'll serve you well.

S/H models always hold their value, too :thup:
humperdingle
Consul Master Hunter
Consul Master Hunter
Site Supporter
Site Supporter